Tboung Khmum Province

  • Country:  Cambodia
  • Provincial: status 2014
  • Capital: Suong
  • Government: Governor Ly Leng (CPP)
  • Area: Total 4,928 km2 (1,903 sq mi)
  • Area rank: Ranked 15th
  • Population:
    • Total 754,000
    • Rank Ranked 8th
    • Density 150/km2 (400/sq mi)
    • Density rank Ranked 8th
  • Time zone: UTC+07
  • Dialing code: +855
  • ISO 3166 code: KH-3
  • Districts: 6

Tboung Khmum [tɓouŋ kʰmum] in Khmer literal: (ខេត្តត្បូងឃ្មុំ), is a province ​​​​ខេត្ត (khaet) of Cambodia situated on the central lowlands of the Mekong River. It borders with the provinces of Kampong Cham to the west, Kratie to the north, Prey Veng to the south, and shares an international border with Vietnam to the east. Its capital and largest city is Suong. The province’s name consists of two words in Khmer, tboung (gem, precious jewel) and khmum (bee), which together mean “Amber”.

This site is inspired by our trip to Cambodia in December of 2007 and particularly by Nara, our Guide. He spent a couple days as our local tour guide and arranged for our vehicle, for a licensed temple tour guide and showed us around Cambodia. Nara has now started his own Cambodia Travel Agency under web page name Taxi in Cambodia – Private Tours. If you are planning to visit Cambodia, let Nara make all the arrangements for you.

Tboung Khmum Province was formed when Kampong Cham Province was split in two by a royal decree signed on 31 December 2013 by King Norodom Sihamoni the son of King Norodom Sihanouk on the recommendation of Prime Minister Hun Sen. The request by Hun Sen’s government to split the province, which was ostensibly for the purpose of improving administrative efficiency in the large province, was made after his ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP) lost the province to the opposition in the July 2013 elections. The CPP won only eight of the available 18 National Assembly seats in Hun Sen’s home province. The 10 districts that remain in Khampong Cham province overwhelmingly voted for the opposition Cambodia National Rescue Party, led by Sam Rainsy, while five of the six districts cut out from Kampong Cham to form Tboung Khmum Province were won solidly by the CPP.


The province is subdivided into 6 districts and one city.

  1. Dambae (ដំបែ)​​ (districts)
  2. Krouch Chhmar (ក្រូចឆ្មារ) (districts)
  3. Memot (មេមត់) (districts)
  4. Ou Reang Ov (អូរាំងឪ) (districts)
  5. Ponhea Kraek (ពញ្ញាក្រែក) (districts)
  6. Tboung Khmum (ត្បូងឃ្មុំ) (districts)
  7. Krong Suong (ក្រុងសួង) (districts)

Things to See & Do in Tboung Khmum Province



Couldn’t find suitable trip for you? Let us help you!

Being the locals, we know the true value of our land. We always listen and arrange everything as your desire.
Please kindly send us whatever about your trip, we will send you best offers quickly.